RSS

Several Small Steps Could Change The World

06 Oct

Has any one ever traveled abroad? Well, If you have, I have not been so lucky myself.  When I watch television or read magazines and there is a picture with an international scene, everyone seems to be “skinny”.  I’m not in any way shape or form advocating “skinny” but I’m saying that on the other end of the spectrum, obesity, is more rampant in american society.   I am a college student so I can honestly say I’m lazy.  Exercise is fun but it’s also hard work.  Like myself and many students, I know, going to school all day, socializing with both males and females, partying all night and then trying to squeeze some study time in for the big test that you haven’t been to class for since last week is work in itself.  With all of that our plates, who, but the athletes, has time to exercise right now.  Many of us think like that including myself; however, when I start thinking about our diets (McDonald’s, Taco Bell, Pizza, and maybe Subway if your Eating Fresh”), plus parting, listening to teachers and getting no sleep, I often question myself about this no exercise thing.  I was reading articles in The Elkhart Truth and a came across one that was titled “Hundreds of students walk to school for International Walk to School Day“.

After reading the article I was like WOW, I’m 28 years old and I’ve never heard of this before.  It’s Google time. I went to their website and found that it started in 2006 and it initially ran for the entire month of October.  Now it’s held one day a year in October and all 50 states participate in the activity.

Now comes the question, how can I get the message the several small steps could change the world?  Social media and this blog!  For all my fellow college students (not just IUSB students), adults, children, and even our animals, we need to get up and “stroll” around a little more.  Before reading those two article, whenever I go out, I park all the way in the back.  Whether it’s the grocery store, my daughter’s school or the bar.  If you think about it, LIFE itself is short and fast and maybe the only way we can slow it down is by, “walking out and smelling the roses”.  I encourage everyone to take the extra few steps, Carpe Diem!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
